Who We Are

A Growing City in a Thriving Area

First incorporated as Arizona City in 1871, Yuma was renamed in 1873 and is now the largest city in Arizona outside the metro areas of Phoenix and Tucson.

Yuma is the county seat and largest city of Yuma County, one of Arizona's original eight counties. It is the 11th largest city in the state, with an estimated population (2010 Census) of 93,064, up 20 percent from the 2000 count of 77,515.

With the arrival of sun-seeking snowbirds, our population nearly doubles during the peak travel months of January, February and March.

Yuma County has an estimated population of 195,751 (2010 Census); population estimates for the county's other incorporated cities and towns include: San Luis, 25,505; Somerton 14,287; and Wellton, 2,882. The rest of the county's population (60,013) lives in unincorporated areas such as the Foothills.

The ethnicity of the population reflects our border location and heritage, with nearly 60 percent of county residents saying they are of Hispanic origin.

And though Winterhaven and the Bard Valley lie cross the Colorado River in California, we welcome those communities as part of the greater Yuma area, and include information on our California neighbors here, too.

Population (2010 Census)

Yuma County - 195,751

Yuma - 93,064

San Luis - 25,505

Somerton - 14,287

Wellton - 2,882

Rest of the county - 60,013

Sign Up For Our Email Newsletter: